I will persist until I succeed. Always will I take another step. If that is of no avail I will take another, and yet another. In truth, one step at a time is not too difficult. I know that small attempts, repeated, will complete any undertaking.Og Mandino

I slept sound and comfy all night long, my slumber was not disturbed, until the sounds of brewing morning coffee drifted into my tent. I was slightly chilled when I uncovered from flufferpuff, my Enlightened Equipment Revelation quilt.

I unzipped my tent and could barely see the guys. As it happens frequently in this area of Washington state, the marine layer had us completely socked in. It wasn’t raining but the mist and fog was heavy in the air. You could hear drops hitting Jupiter’s tarp. Jupiter was having his own personal rain storm. The misty fog was catching in the tops of the trees and then collecting, until they dropped down onto his tarp. Even though it wasn’t raining, everything was wet. We were in a cloud!

We made our breakfast and coffee. I saved out 1 liter of water. It would be 6 miles until we would see a water source. I had enough water left over to make a green tea latte, it was chilly, so an extra warm drink is just what I need this morning. I had hoped to get a photo of morning coffee with the mountain, but you can barely even see the PCT right next to us.

After breakfast we made quick work of getting packed up. We all started the day with rain jackets on, I started to put on my pack cover, but it really wasn’t raining, it was just dripping from the trees, but I kept it in my outer pocket, easily accessible, just in case. I stopped to take a photo of the socked in trail, since I was hiking in the clouds, and hiking in the clouds was on my bucket list! No mountain view coffee photo, but I was checking something off of my bucket list! That’s a win! I looked up from snapping the photo, and the guys were gone. I would see Jupiter again for a moment, but it would be two miles until they stopped to wait for me.

DSCN1345DSCN1347DSCN1354

With the moisture in the air, the arthritis in my knee, was reminding me it was there. It was also pretty breezy and that didn’t help. As fast as Magic Man was moving, I knew he was going to try to push on and do the 14.5 miles today. At this time, there was zero way my knee was going to allow that to happen. I was moving along slower then normal, kind of gimping down the trail, but not wanting to stop and put on the brace, unless absolutely necessary! The guys stopped for me at the campsite two miles down the trail. There was also a road crossing, usually they wait for me at the road crossings, but they hadn’t at the last one and I almost missed the trail! Thankful for those trail markers that I have been obsessed with. I barely saw it small on the tree through the cloud layer. I gimped up and said that my knee was giving me issues because of the wind and moisture, but I was going as fast as I could, without over doing it and that I was glad that we only had 6 more miles to go. And just like that they were off again and I was alone on the trail. Shortly after we crossed the road, I began to hear a strange sound. The sound of civilization. Some kind of big machine or truck. I couldn’t see anything passed 5 feet in front of me. The woods opened up in to a huge clearing and I suddenly felt uneasy. Vulnerable. Alone. Defenseless. Susceptible. There was no protection from the forest and the trees, a blast of wind hit me in the face and chilled me. I know that the forest didn’t really protect me from anything, but the wide open space and the sound of heavy machinery that I couldn’t see was unnerving. Soon out of the fog and the clouds, I saw the culprit of the noise and it looked like it was getting ready to scoop up Magic Man! I could barely make out Jupiter on the other side. It was straight eerie!

DSCN1356

I caught up to Magic Man as he waited for the machinery claw to finish gathering a log, before moving out of our way and off of the trail. Jupiter was already across the road and making his way up the hill, through the clear cut. Wait! He was making his way UP! I thought this section was all downhill! I couldn’t see the trail and how far it went up, as I watched Jupiter slip away into the fog cloud. Magic Man stopped and took off his jacket, the uphill was going to start the sweat, no sense keeping it all in! I followed suit, taking off my rain jacket as well. I had a bit of a chill, with another blast of wind, but I knew once I made my way up the hill, that would go away. This would be the last time I would see Magic Man for 4 and a half miles and 3 hours, as he did his best Magic Man act and disappeared into the foggy cloud! Again I found myself alone on the trail. Alone with my thoughts, alone in the cloud and alone with my knee. For some reason I became very aware, that I was completely alone. And for the first time ever, I didn’t like the aloneness. I don’t know if it was the fact that I couldn’t see anything, so it heightened my senses. I felt as if something like a cougar was out there watching me. As that thought came into my head, I tried to quicken my steps, but it was useless. My knee wasn’t allowing me to move with fast strong trail legs. I kept hoping that this would burn off and I would be able to see my surroundings again. I was moving in and out of the trees. I moved through a very irritating boggy area that was very over grown. I kept tripping over roots and I had to pay close attention to holes in the trail. The last thing I needed was to twist an ankle in a hole or really injure my knee dropping into one of those holes. It was hard to move my poles through the thick reeds and over grown brush. After finally getting through the brush, I thought for certain one of the guys would be on the other side, they weren’t, I was greeted with an open clearing, with a drop on one side and the wind again. I began to imagine things looking at me from the fog cloud, mainly cougars, but the occasional bear came to mind as well. I still felt very vulnerable, exposed. The wind kicked up, blowing the foggy cloud across the trail. I moved on as fast as I could. I kept telling myself, you are fine! You are just fine!! Hiking in a cloud is on your bucket list!

DSCN1360

Soon the trail started back down again. I was back in the woods, and I felt less exposed and nervous. I think that it must have been the eeriness of the foggy cloud and that big machinery claw. Or who knows, maybe there was an animal watching me from the cloud. I had also been saying to myself, there are tons of brave women out here doing this solo! I was reminded of Two-Sips and her solo journey through Oregon two summers ago. I thought of how many woman, strong, brave and solo, alone on the trail that I had passed. The more I thought about these inspiring woman, the more at ease I felt. It did however, seem like an eternity since I had seen either one of the guys. My best guess was Magic Man was pushing hard, wanting to go the distance to the end, 8 miles wasn’t in his wheel house, but 14.5 was right up his alley. My knee, said no way! And Jupiter, faster on the uphill, slower on the down hill, I just had’t been able to catch up to him yet. On the trail ahead of me, a gentleman with two gorgeous horses appeared. I found a spot to get as far off of the trail as possible. As he passed me, he said, “Are you the one with the blueberry fig newtons?” Why yes I am, I looked at him puzzled on how he would know that. “One of your companions said you had those, my horse loves them, so make sure to keep them far away, so he doesn’t try to eat them!” I chuckled and told him he had two beautiful Appys! I loved Appaloosa horses and had a few growing up. I felt better, the guys had not forgotten that I was still back here. The trail flattened out again and passed through a rock field. I despised rock fields, they slowed me way down, I have to watch every step, so I don’t break an ankle, or twist one. I am prone to twisting ankles. So much so that Magic Man tried to change my trail name to “Gracie” but I wasn’t going to let that stick. After one of the rock fields. I caught a glimpse of our final destination. The mighty Columbia River!! This sight spurred me forward!

DSCN1364.JPG

I began to think, If the sun would come out and warm up my knee, maybe, just maybe I could make the final push to the end. I have done 14 miles before in one day. But my knee was still slowing me down. I knew I couldn’t make it with this knee, I was maybe averaging 1.5 MPH, about .5 MPH slower then my new average. I moved forward on the trail. It went down hill, then fattened out, down hill, then flattened out. Soon I began to see more signs of civilization. Clear cuts, power lines, farmland below, and more views of the Columbia River. Then my trail took a downward turn and I was on an edge, the trail was making a steep descent on an edge and it was covered with loose rock. I started to panic. I am terrified of heights and this was nerve-wracking! I moved as close to the right side as possible, leaning to the right, hoping if I slipped on the loose rock, I would fall that way and not to the left and over the edge, down the slope to my certain doom! A couple of ladies came up the trail in the opposite direction. I’m sorry I say to them, I am scared of heights, so I am going to lean to the right, while you pass on the left. They encouraged me onward! You’re scared of heights? Then you are doing amazing! You got this! You are almost back to the woods! Thank you! Have a great hike!! My downward slippery slope, leveled out, but stayed on the edge and…. OH… MY….HORROR…. I had to make a sharp corner, a 90 degree turn, on this edge, I can’t even see the trail around the corner! Where are those guys??? They know I am afraid of heights! I want someone to talk me through this! I stood there for a moment. Tears starting to well. Breathe! Deep breath, inhale slowly, exhale… Come one girl, stop being a scaredy cat!! You got this! Now move girl, move!! One cautious step, lean and look around the corner, ok theres the trail and it goes down again, but the edge is gone and I have more land on each side of me. I can stand up again in stead of the weird awkward leaning gait.

21167781_1813497481997668_8358098029897231611_o
I stole Jupiter’s photo down the edge of the terrifying section. I couldn’t even bring myself to look!

I am back in the woods, and I have to find a tree! And fast! The anxiousness of the ledge has settled in. Thankfully I am wearing my skirt! It’s so much easier to step off the trail, without dropping pack and finding cover of a tree and squatting. This is a good thing since, I really needed to go, there was a tree, but right next to the trail. Ahhhhh…… relief! Just as I am full stream, a thru-hiker bounces up the trail. Go figure! No stopping now, but he’s in a hurry and thankful doesn’t see me or doesn’t pay any attention to me, plugged in, ear buds on, eyes focused on the trail in front of him.

The trail levels out, the sun is back out, my knee is no longer hurting. I am flying down the trail. I still have no sight of either one of the guys. I know, I just know Magic Man is going to want to push on. The trail opens up in to a field with a power tower. There’s Jupiter! YAY!! I am so happy to have finally caught him. Where’s Magic Man? Jupiter doesn’t know, He hasn’t seen him in maybe two miles and at the least an hour. I looked at Jupiter, “He’s going to try to push it the full miles today, isn’t he?” Jupiter just shrugs his shoulders. I ask how he feels about it? I add in, if the trail stays like this or continues down hill, I think I can make it to the end! I am feeling super strong right now and how badass would it be to come in a day early?” He thinks it’s a good idea, now lets go find Magic Man. I match pace with Jupiter. I haven’t been taking many photos, since I have been concentrating on the trail. Soon we pass a thru-hiker and he stops to let us pass. I stop as well to take a drink of water and ask about the trail ahead. He says that the down hill that we are on is the steepest section to Bridge of the Gods. Now I really think I can push on! I know Magic Man is wanting to, he hasn’t said anything, but I know, he’s going to want to push onward. I lose Jupiter for a moment, but he’s not too far ahead of me. Soon he stops and there is Magic Man, pack off, sitting in his chair, water already full, having lunch. It’s almost noon.

I drop pack and sit on a rock. We are smack in the middle of the trail at a teeny spring. I pull out a Luna bar, I’m hungry, but my stomach is in knots. I force myself to eat it and then have some triscuts. My lunch today was supposed to be salmon packet and crackers. I can’t stomach the salmon packet today.

I bring up to Magic Man, maybe we should talk about coming in a day early? It’s only noon and we only have 2 miles left to go. This would mean from here, we would have 8 miles to completion. We could potentially be done a day early, at 4:30 – 5:00 PM! And eating East Wind bacon cheese burgers and fries for dinner! As we are discussing this and making a decision, a couple heading north bound stops at the spring. I say to them, we are trying to make a decision, stop and camp in two miles (one hour) or continue on and complete our section today. I ask what is the trail like from here to Bridge of the Gods? More up hill? More rock fields? Both of these slow me down significantly, so it will make a huge difference in our decision. The couple says, they don’t remember any rock fields and it’s all downhill from here. We make the decision!

Let’s do this! Lets complete our trek a day early!!

I send out the text, on 1 teeny little bar… and wait… and wait… no answer. We have to move on, especially if we’re going to complete the trip! Back on airplane mode. Before we take off, I say, “Let’s stop at camp OR if we reach a ridgeline where we might have service. I will need to make sure that my parents are even able to pick us up today! They may still be in Vancouver and not in Troutlake!”

I keep on trying to get through. I stop on a ridgeline. Where are the guys?? I have service, it’s 1:32 PM and I make a call, the phone just rings, voice mail? I hope you got my message. I am in and out of service, text when you can. I try the Troutlake number, same thing. I keep on moving. At this time I am hoping the guys stop at our original designated campsite. I wanted to form a plan. A solid, you need to stick with it plan! I dropped down next to a creek, I must be getting close. I came to a bridge. Right after the bridge, the trail made a complete U turn. I cursed at whomever had done this cruel trickery! Why not just put a bridge in further up the trail?

DSCN1370.JPG

I made it to the camp site and the guys were there. It was a pretty cool campsite. And so far the trail had been down hill. We had only 6.5 miles to go. The guys had packs off, and had already scouted out the site. They were also talking about staying and not pushing on. They liked the campsite and Jupiter’s feet were hurting. Oh boy… I checked the service… nothing… no 1x.. no bars… nothing… I said I had no way to text my parents, so we really can’t change the plan now! So we take a mini break, grab another bite, fuel for the miles! It was was 2:00 PM when we headed out. I was worried we wouldn’t make our 5:30 PM time. But the couple said, no up hill and no more rock fields, the thru-hiker couldn’t remember any more up hills, it should be smooth sailing until the end! I formed a plan with the guys. I want to try to give my parents a time line. And since I am going to be pushing myself, let’s stop every 2 miles. That way I will never be more then 2 miles behind you, just in case something happens. We can get a time line, a more accurate time for my parents and I’ll feel some comfort in knowing that they will never be more than 2 miles ahead of me. This will give us only 2 more stops until the end. I can compartmentalize the hike better that way. Mini goals, 2 miles, 2 miles, 2 miles.

Sling the pack and we are gone! We didn’t make it far when I got a nature call! I tried to tell the guys to wait, but they were already off and out of ear shot. I moved on as fast as I could. I felt like I was flying. Strong trail legs. Pushing my limits! Strong mind, strong drive! Head down! Kicking up trail dust. I have taken so few photos on this section. Mind on the trail, flying as fast as I can! We have miles to make! What have I done? Can I do this? I let myself drift in and out of I can, no I can’t. When the trail takes a turn and I am standing in an open area, power lines in front of me and a view of the Bonnieville Dam.  It was 2:30 PM when I was finally able to get service. 4 G 3 bars. Phone buzzed away…

21762128_10214195165542270_747474896227394815_n.jpg

I also made a Facebook update:

We are going for it! Final 6 mile push to the end, to complete a day early!

 

 

I came to a road, a road with no apparent trail marker. Which way was it?? Usually the guys would have stopped for me, but I had said 2 miles. I looked at the trail, it was curved toward the left, so left was the direction I went. There was a trail to the right down the road, no trail marker. This was the most confusing part of this whole trip. I took out my phone and consulted the Half Mile Map App, it would really suck to get lost less then 5 miles from the end. Yes! I was on the PCT!! And less then a mile to go before the first stop. I kept moving. The guys had to be close! The trail continued it’s downward route. I heard another creek, dropped down some more. There in front of me was a single foot bridge, resting on it, feet dangling was Jupiter.

DSCN1378

What’s our time? We are are traveling about 1 hour and 15 mins for two miles. Any word from your parents? Yes they got the message, they will meet us at the Bridge of the Gods on the Washington side. How long did you have to wait for me? Sorry nature called. Then I had to stop for the text. Not long at all. How’s the feet Jupiter? I don’t want to talk about it. Ok, sorry. Should have soaked your feet. No one has time for that!

Sling packs and let’s go! 2 more miles guys and we stop again! We take off and suddenly come to a fork in the trail, the one to the left goes UP and the one to the right is level. There are no signs. Magic Man checks his maps, it looks like we stay to the right. There is a guy, setting up his tent. Which trail is the PCT and he points. Looks like we are going up guys. WTH? There was supposed to be no more up, not only is this up, but its a rock field! Double whammy! Seriously, given some wrong information. Head down, well nothing we can do but move on! And to take my mind off of it… I bust out in yet another Boston song in my head, and it just seemed fitting!

Boston: Foreplay/Long Time

It’s been such a long time
I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time doesn’t wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
Sail on, on a distant highway
I’ve got to keep on chasin’ a dream, yeah
I’ve gotta be on my way
Wish there was something I could say
Well, I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ on
You’ll forget about me after I’ve been gone
And I take what I find, I don’t want no more
It’s just outside of your front door….
Magic Man would stop and wait, I just kept going. Soon he passed me up again. Up, Up, Up, nothing but UP… Well, I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ on

At the top, I stopped for a breath. I looked at where we had come from. Gillette Lake lay below us. I thought, if I still lived in Washington state, this would be one of the weekend trips that I would have planned with my friends. How many laughs were had and memories made on the banks of that little lake?

DSCN1379.JPG

It was nothing but a rock field! I swear, this mile was nothing but a rock field trail! How could you forget, one long, long, seemingly never ending rock field? I was worried. Uphill and rock field. This was going to slow my momentum tremendously! Would I make the 5:30 time? My feet were starting to really get mad. I was in that 11 mile comfort zone, it seemed that any miles after 11 or so, came my wall. My feet were doing the numb thing again, but all I could do was push onward. Not only were we in a rock field, But since we had reached a lower elevation and were close to the lowest elevation on the PCT, it was getting warm. Afternoon sun beating down on me, no shade, in a stinking rock field. Head down, concentrate. I stopped for a moment to make an adjustment, and placed my foot on a rock, I pushed it back and forth, using the rock like a foam roller. Ahhhhh!!!! That actually felt good. I did the same thing with the other side. And that became my thing! When my feet got numb, I would take a moment to roll them on a rock! WHEN WOULD THIS ROCK FEILD END????

21199684_1813497061997710_4776066022718152847_o.jpg

Finally back into the trees. We had started to pass more and more day hikers and weekenders with heavy packs and little chihuahua dogs! None of the group with the heavy packs and the little dogs had them on leashes, and those dogs certainly didn’t like me. I just wanted passed them! I had no time to burn! Suddenly Jupiter and Magic Man appeared in the trail before me.

2 MORE MILES!! 2 MORE AND WE ARE DONE!!! How are your feet Jupiter? I don’t want to talk about it! I told him about my rock foot massage, but he was having no part of it. He slung his pack and Magic Man and him where off. I was left standing there still trying to check in with my parents. They had left in such a hurry, I didn’t even get a chance to say, hey I need help to switch out my water. And wait for me at the sign, I want a group photo at the sign. The phone buzzed to life, my parents were stopping at the store in Stevenson. My return text was: “POWER AIDE please!! This last time it took us 1 hour for 2 miles! And we are on our last two miles!!” I didn’t wait for a response, back to airplane mode, let me see if I can catch the guys!!! But first, I reached back to grab my other water bottle, I don’t want to take my pack off, so I just keep both water bottles on the front of my pack. I hope this won’t irritate me!

DSCN1380DSCN1381

I was getting close! I was under 2 miles! I quickened my step as fast as I could. I was going to make it!! Now this short stretch seemed to take forever! Well, I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ on… The trail is flat, and I am following alongside the road now. My legs are burning, my feet are aching and the rock massage isn’t really working any longer. I know I must be close. I really wish I had told the guys to hold up and wait, so we could all finish together.

I take a step and my whole leg freezes. I have immense pain coming from my left inner thigh. When I try to move, my left leg, doesn’t want to bend. Tears start to well in my eyes. This can’t be happening now. I’m so close to the end! All of my muscles, knees, feet, shoulders have only had the normal minor aches and pains that go along with long distance backpacking. Why is this happening? I try to stretch and it doesn’t seem to be working. I try to move and all I can do is step on my right leg and drag my left. I can’t put any pressure my left leg. I’m exhausted from the day and I know I am so close, and I’m sure my blood sugar is a little low. I just stand there and sob. A lady thru-hiker is coming down the trail towards me, I try to straighten up and wipe the tears from my face. How can I stand here sobbing like a baby, when this brave woman coming at me just backpacked over 2,000 miles! There’s really no hiding my distress. She walks directly to me. Honey, what is wrong? I am having problems with my inner thigh muscle, I think it is seizing, and I am trying to reach the Bridge of the Gods. I have been on trail since Troutlake and I am trying to complete this section. It all just kinda flew out of my mouth. She said, you are really close to Bridge of the Gods, like a half mile out. She dropped her pack and said, I am “Thumper” now lets take a look at that thigh muscle, I am a physical therapist, do you mind? I was perfectly fine with that. I still have tears rolling down my cheeks, but I am no longer sobbing, just in pain. Thumper has me take a step forward, and sees where the muscle is tight, runs her fingers down the muscle, oh yes she exclaimed, you have a pretty serious cramp there. She shows me some stretches and helps me out, until the muscle has released and I can move forward, wincing, but moving. She tells me I should be good to go. I hug her and thank her, tell her I can not thank her enough and wish her a safe trip to Canada! She tells me I got this, you are almost there. The emotions are so high right now, I cry a little more. She goes North and I head South. I am almost done!

I see the trail head sign and drop down to the road! I just stand there, over come with emotions. I have just completed 86 miles on the PCT! Once again I am standing there with tears welling in my eyes, to roll down my cheeks and drop into the trail dust below my feet. I had wished the guys were there, so that we could stand together at this moment and share in the moment of completion. But they are already across the highway with my parents. I take a quick selfie, send it to Mike. I made it!!! I am done! We did it a day early! His reply, is good, now go take a real shower and relax!

21687923_10214232213708451_2530923508821158936_n

My step-mom Wendy has prepared for our exit off of the trail and is across the freeway, ready with her camera. Magic Man is of course first, then Jupiter and as usual, me rolling in last! My parents have greeted us with frosty cold beers. They didn’t get my Poweraide message until too late. I’m ok with that as well. It’s a well earned beer!

Ron completeShaun completeMe Complete

 

 

HOWEVER….. this trek is not quite over! On our first section, we did not cross the Bridge of the Gods. I just knew they were going to make me cross! After a quick break, beer finished. It was time to sling the pack back on and make the walk. Remember that fear of heights? Bridge of the Gods is full of holes, you can see all the way down to the mighty Columbia River! I look at the guys and say, if I am doing this, you HAVE to stay with me!!!! We pause for photos and then start the bridge cross. It was quite the spectacle. I predicted that they were going to make me cross, I knew the bridge would be breezy, before we left, I took a moment and pulled out the Icebreaker undies that I had been packing the whole way, so I wouldn’t flash everyone, as I crossed. Unlike Jupiter, who gave several cars a show. Jupiter stayed right with me, talking me through it, Magic Man was off like a rocket. Gone and across the bridge before I was even halfway. We still didn’t complete together, kind of bummed about that part. But I can not thank Jupiter enough for sticking with me, even though I was slow and scared. We started together, we ended together!

Afterwards it was onto the East Wind Drive Inn and their amazing delish bacon cheeseburgers! To complete the trail at 5:30 PM on Thursday!!

After we were done gorging ourselves on the amazing food, we headed up to my parents place at Troutlake. My son and his girlfriend we going to head up Friday evening, so that he could give the guys memorial tattoos for the trip. At first they were going to get matching PCT trail marker emblems like mine, but each has their own personality, so they ended up having my son sketch them out different tattoos. At the request of the guys, and myself, my dad had planned a dinner of his famous ribs for Friday night. We spent Friday relaxing and recuperating from the trek. I washed my trip clothing. I hung up my hammock, my son and his girlfriend would be taking over the room, I was staying in, so I would finally get to field test my hammock. I relaxed in the hammock, listening to the sounds of the river while enjoying a frosty beer. There was fresh Troutlake store huckleberry pie!! What a treat. And visiting with my parents. We spent Saturday watching the guys get their tattoos, and having spicy bacon bloody mary’s and more huckleberry pie! I made my trail pizza, so everyone could have a taste!

 

As I went off to bed on Friday night, everyone took bets on how long it would be, before I headed in to sleep on the couch! I slept so solid and sound all night dangling in my hammock, that the guys had to wake me for breakfast at 8:00 Saturday morning! Best night’s sleep ever! All snuggled into my Ultimate Hammock, with the under quilt properly attached and my flufferpuff, my Enlightened Equipment Revelation quilt!

21767962_10214255800178098_4038213927950278415_n

 

Magic Man was first for tattooing! His was a special mix of Sasquatch and his pet moose jumping over a snake, with Jupiter in the sky. (flash doesn’t do justice to the tattoo)

22007874_10214255899580583_8103103334797500700_n

 

Jupiter took a more simplistic approach and went with the old rusted PCT trail marker design, in a fading hiking boot print.

DSCN1418

It was another great and memorable trip in the books! I wouldn’t change a thing about the trip. Accept maybe wearing the right socks on day #1. The photos from day #1 and #2, I will cherish forever, as now most of that area is burnt from the East Crater fire. I’ll cherish all of the memories and the photos, but those two days will hold a more special place, that area will never be the same, at least not in my lifetime! As I reflect back on this trip, I am reminded that I have an incredible support team. My trail brothers, my parents, my sister and now her husband and my new brother-in-law, my son and a special thank you to my Mike, my at home support team, that always puts me in perspective, when I am on the edge and supports me fully through all this craziness on my PCT dream! And my trainer Gabby, who got my ass in the shape it needed to be to make this trek and see it through to completion!

Until the next section (already in the planning stages of course)….

The Journey IS the Destination!

Over the brdge

Jupiter, Snake Jumper, and Magic Man!