Today was a special day, for several reasons. The most important being, a hike for a special friend, person and leader. 5 years ago today, she was given the gift of life. Someone had passed away and had signed up for being an organ donor. Her passing, gave Dinorah the precious gift of life. Dinorah had lived with high blood pressure for years and it eventually made her kidney’s give out. She spent 19 months on a dialysis machine several times a week. Dialysis drained her and she could barely climb the stairs to her apartment. She is taking care of herself, staying healthy, hiking and climbing mountains. Dinorah is one of the great leaders of the 52 Peak Club and she was leader of the year for 2015! She is an insipiration to all who meet her. She is kind and caring and always willing to help those who struggle to get to the peaks. Including myself today.

12662462_10208592856288040_494849255161035229_n
Dinorah celebrating her donor by hosting a hike every year, today I struggled to get to the peak, but she helped me make it to the top, delaying her party. I am grateful to know this wonderful lady!

Some stats on organ donation:

As a donor you can save up to 8 lives and heal the lives of more than 50 people. Donated organ and tissue may include the following:

Organs:                                              Tissue:

Heart                                               Bones

Intestines                                       Corneas

Kidneys                                          Heart Valves

Liver                                               Skin

Lungs                                             Tendons

Pancreas                                        Veins

This information was taken directly from the Nevada Donor Network pamphlet.

For more information or to become an organ donor, please click the link below:

http://donatelife.net/organ-donation/

Become an organ donor today! I am! You can save a life, like Dinorah’s!

DSCN5970
That little heart on my drivers license show that I am an organ donor! You can put a heart on your driver’s license too!

The other reason this was a special day, was that I was able, with the help of Dinorah, make it to the top of another peak. This was a peak rematch for me, as the last time, I did not even attempt to make the peak; that day we had a two peak day planned, on the first peak, my knee was giving me too much pain, so instead of putting the whole group at risk of not making both peaks, I stopped and let everyone go on. On the second peak, I hiked the flat ground with everyone, until it started to go up, I turned back and waited for everyone in a gorgeous place called Anniversary Narrows.

DSCN5932
Today in the Anniversary Narrows

We took a scrambling route up a loose rock wall, making it difficult and tiring to make the peak. BUT if it wasn’t hard, it wouldn’t be as rewarding as it is when you make the peak! The way down was a slip sliding loose rock commute as well. And even though I am currently training hard for my upcoming PCT trip, and to be able to one day hike with another leader of the 52 Peak Club, David Shirley, he writes the best hike descriptions and I believe anyone that funny and imaginative, MUST be fun to hike with, the day was exhausting. This also shows you how difficult these hikes can be. They are not by any means your average hike! 10 tough miles altogether with an elevation gain of 1,300 feet and a peak elevation of 3,074 feet and so worth every single step and every single moment. I almost slipped down a loose rock slope, but was able to jab my hiking pole in-between some large rocks and get some leverage, bent my pole, but that’s fine with me, it saved me from possible injury. I am so grateful to be able to accomplish these “out of my comfort zone” hikes. And even better, was no fear during the short, airy spots getting to the peak. And THAT is my original reason for joining this group. To get over the fear and change my life.

DSCN5938
Bowl of Fire

This was also my final 3 in my deck, making it my first 4 of a kind and the last card from the Lake Mead portion of the deck. I had been chasing this 3 for three years. I was down for some time with a knee injury, then a couple times it was posted and I either woke up sick or was able to pick up hours at work. It seemed that I was never going to get that card! So with it being Dinorah’s 5 year anniversary, I decided it was worth taking the day off for it and to raise awareness for organ donation!

We had breath taking views from the top of the “Bowl of Fire” and Lake Mead.

DSCN5949
Me with my hard earned 3 of Diamonds! And Lake Mead in the background.

Usually I post a photo with my toes up, card and having a nice well earned frosty beer to celebrate, but I am backpacking first thing in the morning, so I need to stay hydrated. But my toes are up and I celebrated with pizza for dinner! 😉